HomeSportsDhawan was chosen Sri Lankan captain; Padikkal, Sakariya among new choices

Dhawan was chosen Sri Lankan captain; Padikkal, Sakariya among new choices

Shikhar Dhawan was appointed captain in India’s Sri Lanka trip from 13 July where three ODIs and three T20Is are playing. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was appointed deputy to Dhawan. With many white-ball regulars in England, the BCCI has simultaneously rewarded a number of local players with an Indian call-up.

Indian team Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Sambson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunepandya, Krunal Yadav.

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Sai Kishore, Arshdeep Singh, Simarjeet Singh…
The Karnataka opener Devdutt Padikkal, who was in the white-ball cricket on the local circuit and the IPL in rolling form, was recruited. The cut was also made by Maharashtra and CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad. Prithvi Shaw, who won the highest scoring for Mumbai with a huge 827 run, also returns to the national side mix to lead his team to a win of the Vijay Hazare Trophy earlier this year.

The young batch of players, such Rahul Chahar, Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav, with games in the house series against England (ODI and T20Is), have all remained in the team. The team’s positions were also held by Varun Chakravarthy, Navdeep Saini and Deepak Chahar, who were members of the T20I Squad in that series, but did not play.

India has been spoiled for the top-of-the-line choice since another reliable IPL artist over the last several years – Nitish Rana – is also looking in, while Manish Pandey has been offered a return in the absence of some of the first-choice batting alternatives.

In the bowlers, the youthful and outstanding Chetan Sakariya secured a spot earlier this year in the now banned IPL 2021, based on his remarkable exploits. Krishnappa Gowtham, the Karnataka Spinner seasoned, who had a great payoff in this year’s IPL auction, was also selected



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments